< Back

Cahedral Basilica

The Cathedral Basilica, the seat of the Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Augustine. The current cathedral is either the third or fourth one of that name in the city and was built in the late 1790s. Its predecessors had been burned twice by British privateers trying to demonstrate to the Spanish the advisability of their leaving. Another cathedral by that name burned down in an accidental fire. The main altar is adorned by a large statue of the risen Christ flanked by two smaller statues of saints. Behind the main altar was what appeared to be a large pipe organ. The walls to either side of the main altar were decorated with paintings of important events in the history of St. Augustine. In addition to the main altar, there were six side altars.