Finished in 1753 for John Carlyle, this is Alexandria’s only 18th-century stone Palladian-style house. In 1755, Gen. Edward Braddock made his headquarters there and planned his French and Indian War campaign. This finely detailed Scottish merchant’s mansion, constructed in the compact manner of John Carlyle’s native land, was hidden for years behind a hotel. The Northern Virginia Park Authority demolished the hotel and restored the house as a Bicentennial project in the 1970s. The house is open as a museum, and tours, programs, and exhibits explore John Carlyle’s life and role as a political and mercantile leader of pre-Revolutionary Alexandria.