At Stonington pull over into a side street for a look at a historical marker. It tells the story of the founding of the town in 1649. It mentioned the names of the original settlers, William and Anna Chesebrough. How many towns on the East Coast knew the names of their original settlers? Stonington was incorporated when the earliest settlers to the area arrived from the Plymouth colony in 1649. Originally a trading post on the Pawcatuck River, Stonington was later claimed by Massachusetts and named Southertown. Connecticut Governor John Winthrop, Jr. obtained the charter for the Colony of Connecticut in 1662 from England which set the boundaries to include the town, and the General Court first changed the name to Mystic in 1665. In 1666, the name was changed to Stonington. The culture in Stonington includes a unique sophisticated appeal with a small town New England charm. Stonington comprises a number of villages including Pawcatuck, Stonington Borough, Lords Point, Wequetequock and the eastern halves of Mystic and Old Mystic. The town is situated between the metropolitan cities of New York City and Boston. The town is right off Route 1 which provides easy access for travelers, residents and our businesses. Stonington is an extraordinary town that thrives on innovative industry, preservation of our scenic beauty and embracing our historical heritage.